Transatlantic Literary Women Symposium

I will be presenting at the Transatlantic Literary Women Symposium on Saturday 3 June 2017 at Glasgow Women’s Library – the event is free and all are welcome to attend!

Previous events organised by the Transatlantic Literary Women Series have been really fun and interesting, discussing women’s writing on both sides of the Atlantic over the past 150 years, covering everything from the trenches to Gentlemen Prefer Blondes.

Although I can’t tell you in advance exactly what I’m talking about, I’m really looking forward to participating in the symposium which should be a fun day!

201706 Speaking at Transatlantic Literary Women

Here I am giving my short lecture on why Edith Wharton is the ultimate Transatlantic Woman, to an audience which included several international Wharton scholars, and discussed her works, homes, prizes and dogs! The Glasgow Women’s Library in Bridgeton was a very welcoming venue, and the presentations were fascinating, from Age-Conscious Modernity and African-American women travellers to slam poetry by way of Sylvia Plath’s voice. More photos from the day available here. Thanks to Laura Rattray and the team for inviting me!

Trans Lit Women logo

